#PASTEIS DE NATA WITH A DIFFERENCE

A traditional portuguese dessert is of course, the Pastei de Nata.

I have blogged the recipe before, but naturally, with cooking and baking comes experimenting.  My top tip for learning how to cook is to first try out a recipe word for word, gram for gram and egg for egg.  Afterwards you’ll be able to make a few changes if you so wish by making adjustments to suit your kitchen style.

Pasteis de Nata are normally made with a puff pastry crust, I however found a new way of making them, which in my personal opinion looks prettier, is lighter and much easier to make. I wonder if the very patriotic portuguese person would find this absurd. Only one way to find out.

IMG_0581-0

IMG_0583-0

IMG_0584-0

IMG_0588

IMG_0587

IMG_0589

IMG_0591

IMG_0590

So I cut the philo pastry into little squares to fit the the cupcake tin. The pastry should stick out though. I used 3 leaves for each cup, brushing melted butter between each sheet so that it can stick.

I then pour in the custard, fold the edges slightly in towards the centre of the custard.

Here is the recipe again.

Pasteis

400gr frozen puff pastry thawed (or philo pastry)
650 ml milk
100 ml corn flour
250 ml cream
250 ml sugar
5 ml vanilla essence
8 egg yolks.

1) Roll out pastry and line cupcake tin.
2) Combine 150 ml milk with corn flour
3) Bring rest of the milk, sugar and cream to a boil. Add corn flour paste. Stir well until it boils and thickens.
4) Add vanilla essence.
5) Remove from heat and add yolks one at a time and beating after each addition.
6) Spoon into lined tin
7) Bake for 20 min at 200degC

And there you have it.

I’ve found that pouring a teaspoon of vanilla essence on each of the custards “cupcakes” just before baking , gives it a more Caramelized effect.

🍮🍮🍮

Enjoy baking!

MuchLuv, BeBlessed
SandyN

7 thoughts on “#PASTEIS DE NATA WITH A DIFFERENCE

  1. Helene Haworth

    How lucky am I to find this recipe. I emailed a friends daughter who is married to a Portuguese man hoping they could help. Ever since I bought some in Hillcrest I’ve been wanting to make them, can’t wait . Thank you for the tips Sandy

Leave a Reply

